NEW MUSIC: Casual Male – Takin’ It Easy


Casual Male are a band out of Brooklyn, NY led by Tim Lappin. They’ve got a new EP out called EP and it finds them dialling into the kind of indie sound that embraces rhythm, clever lyrics and plenty of sharp turns and infectious melodies, not dissimilar to the route well trodden by Spoon and The Walkmen.

‘Takin’ It Easy’ is a moody slow stagger of a song that whispers in your ear and weaves a gritty guitar sound around a sparse framework. It’s all in the feel.

Check out the EP on SPOTIFY and Bandcamp.




Roya is a six piece band from Brooklyn with a strong pedigree: singer Rahill Jamilifard fronts Habibi, drummer Hamish Kilgour is a member of legendary band The Clean, Jay Heiselmann is from the critically acclaimed Grooms, and bassist Alix Brown is previously of The Lids, Jay Reatard and Golden Triangle.

This is their latest release, to mark theUS political events of the last 24 hours.

NEWS: Light Asylum announce debut LP and stream single…

Brooklyn’s Light Asylum caught a lot of ears in 2011 with the release of their EP In Tension. Finally we get a (self-titled) full length album and from the sound of the excellent first single Shallow Tears and the b-side Genesis it is going to be heavy on the goth synth drama that the EP introduced. The album will be out May 1st via Mexican Summer.

Light Asylum are:  Shannon Funchess – Vox/percussion gun drums and Bruno Coviello – Synths/drum machine.

Album track-listing

01 Hour Fortress
02 Pope Will Roll
03 IPC
04 Heart of Dust
05 Sins of the Flesh
06 Angel Tongue
07 Shallow Tears
08 At Will
09 End of Days
10 A Certain Person