NEW MUSIC: The Laurels – Reentry

Sydney band The Laurels are back with a brand new single, the first off their forthcoming new LP Sonicology, due out October 14th via Rice Is Nice Records. Reentry finds the band exploring more groove and more psychedelia with shades of Primal Scream and a baggy Manchester vibe in its loping rhythm.   Continue reading NEW MUSIC: The Laurels – Reentry

WATCH: Donny Benet | Gimme Your Heat [Video]

Sydney’s electro lothario Donny Benet returns with his second album Electric Love (out now via Rice is Nice) and if you thought his schtick wouldn’t last beyond one album then think again. We’ll have a review up soon but Electric Love is a real step up from the debut with tracks stretched into jams that sound like The Pointer Sisters jamming with Suicide. There is … Continue reading WATCH: Donny Benet | Gimme Your Heat [Video]

NEWS: New label, album and single for The Laurels

We’ve been hanging for this one for a while now but finally Sydney’s The Laurels have announced their album will be released via Rice Is Nice Records in the second half of 2012. Featuring Luke O’Farrell (vocals/guitar/loop sampler), Piers Cornelius (vocals/guitar), Conor Hannan (bass) and Kate Wilson (drums) they released to much acclaim the Wandering Star 7″ (2009) and the Mesozoic EP (2011) to much acclaim as well … Continue reading NEWS: New label, album and single for The Laurels