NEW MUSIC: Boris | Quicksilver (from forthcoming new LP Noise)


Boris are an incredible band who fuse, distort, bend and blend metal, psych, noise, punk and drone into one definitive sound. Live they are pummelling and hypnotic, on record they can be frustratingly indulgent or thrillingly visceral. ‘Quicksilver’ is the first taste of their new LP Noise which comes out on June 17th via Sargent House. Be prepared for seven minutes of tsunami-like waves of metallic and melodic shredding.


01 Melody
02 Vanilla
03 Ghost of Romance
04 Heavy Rain
05 Taiyo no Baka
06 Angel
07 Quicksilver
08 Siesta

Preorders should be available HERE shortly

ALBUM REVIEW: Paul McCartney | New

square-600-7Rating7After more than half a century Paul McCartney is still pushing his songwriter’s pen, seemingly with a desire to prove his worth in each successive generation. The last few decades haven’t been his strongest yet New, surprisingly, is something of a return to the essence of the ex-Beatle in terms of strong, melodic, pop songs. Not everything works, particularly on the lyrical front where he too often settles for simplistic wordplay yet there are many quite superb moments. The infectious groove of I Can Bet, the glorious Beatles-esque single New and the tripped-out beats of Appreciate are just some making a strong case for McCartney’s continued musical relevance.

by Chris Familton

this review was first published in The Music


NEWS: Street Chant return with two new singles

Street Chant toured the hell out of their debut LP Means, in NZ, Australia and the USA and after spending the better part of the last year writing and recording its follow-up they have today released a double A-side single featuring the songs Frail Girls and Salad Daze. Both will feature on the new forthcoming LP which is due for release via Arch Hill Recordings as well as a 7″ vinyl release.

To celebrate the release of the new songs and videos (14th May) the trio will be playing a show with Sherpa, Golden Axe, Evil Twins and The ARC at Snake Pit in Auckland on May 11th.

WATCH: Neil Young & Crazy Horse | Oh Susannah [NEW]

Here it is, the first single from the brand new Neil Young & Crazy Horse LP Americana. The album is the band’s first since Greendale in 2003 and and their first with the full Crazy Horse line-up of Billy Talbot, Ralph Molina and Frank ‘Poncho’ Sampedro since the underwhelming Broken Arrow in 1996. The band sounds fresh and breathing new life into the classic folk song. You can hear Young talking up the groove and funkiness of the track at its conclusion.

Americana is out June 5th, click HERE to pre-order.

LISTEN/DOWNLOAD: Dexys | Nowhere Is Home [New]

Dexys (without the Midnight Runners part of the name) are back with a new record called One Day I’m Going To Soar that will be out April 6th.  Check out the first single Nowhere Is Home below, download it and revel in the madcap singing and lyrics of Mr Kevin Rowland. The song is pitched somewhere between Curtis Mayfield and Tindersticks at an 80s soul styled cabaret. Weirdly it works!

LISTEN: to Hey Jane from Spiritualized [NEW]

J Spaceman drops the first track from the new album Sweet Heart Sweet Light that is due out on April 17th. Hey Jane is a sprawling, urgent dispatch of Velvet chug and mantra delivery complete with chaotic mid-song collapse and sunrise re-birth that sounds like prime Spiritualized but with a renewed sense of energy post Jason’s medical issues in recent years. And yep that is apparently the album art above (??).