NEW MUSIC: 2nd single from The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project: Axels & Sockets


Glitterhouse Records are about to release the third volume of The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project where incomplete or unrecorded Pierce songs have been finished with a superb cast of singers including Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, Deborah Harry, Thurston Moore, Mick Harvey and many others. Axels & Sockets is out May 2nd in USA/Europe and locally in Australia shortly after May 5th.

‘Constant Limbo (Constant Rain)’ is the second single from the new album performed by Cypress Grove and Crippled Black Phoenix with a deep and dusky call and response section between Mark Lanegan, Bertrand Cantat, and Suzie Stapleton (Melbourne, VIC) who we’ve featured previously on DS.

“It all came about because Cypress Grove was invited by a friend of a friend to my show at London’s 12 Bar Club where I’d been squished onto the beginning of a metal line-up. My previously booked show had fallen through so it was better than not playing London at all. Pretty lucky I guess – particularly as Mark Lanegan has been a prime influence on my music. Though all the musicians involved are incredible – it’s a real honour to be a part of the project” – Suzie Stapleton

01 Nobody’s City – Iggy Pop with Nick Cave (feat. Thurston Moore) 
02 Kisses For My President – The Amber Lights with Debbie Harry 
03 Mexican Love – Black Moth
04 Weird Kid Blues – Julie Christensen
05 Ain’t My Problem Baby – Slim Cessna’s Auto Club
06 Constant Limbo (Constant Rain) – Crippled Black Phoenix and Cypress Grove (feat. Mark Lanegan, Bertrand Cantat & Suzie Stapleton) 
07 Into The Fire – Nick Cave And Debbie Harry 
08 Thunderhead – Kris Needs Presents…Honey 
09 Desire By Blue River – Mark Lanegan and Bertrand Cantat 
10 Kitty In The Moonlight – The Amber Lights with Xanthe Waite
11 Secret Fires – Ruby Throat
12 Kisses For My President – Andrea Schroeder 
13 Body And Soul – James Johnston 
14 Goodbye Johnny (Andrew Weatherall’s Nyabinghi Noir Mix) – Primal Scream 
15 Break ‘Em Down – Hugo Race 
16 My Cadillac – Cypress Grove
17 The Journey Is Long – Lydia Lunch and Jeffrey Lee Pierce
18 Shame And Pain – Mark Stewart And Jeffrey Lee Pierce (feat. Thurston Moore)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s