WATCH: The trailer for the reissue of JAMC’s Psychocandy…

The Jesus and Mary Chain’s seminal 1985 debut is a classic of that decade (or any other) with its amalgamation of The Velvet Underground, narcotic drones and hazy pop sensibilities,. Rightfully so it now gets the makeover with a ton of extras. Here’s the lowdown with the trailer at the bottom…

THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN — PSYCHOCANDY — Expanded Edition. 2 CD + DVD in digipak

• Since Psychocandy was first released in November 1985, the Jesus And Mary Chain’s debut album has received a massive amount of critical acclaim and is now widely regarded as a classic. Regularly featured in articles on classic albums, it has recently appeared on the NME’s list of the Top 50 Greatest Debut Albums Ever and Q Magazine’s list of the 100 Greatest British Albums, and continues to exert a considerable influence on contemporary bands.
• This deluxe expanded edition features all the non-album b-sides, as well as previously unreleased demos, rare outtakes including controversial early track “Jesus Fuck” which the pressing plant refused to manufacture at the time due to the blasphemous lyrics — it is heard here for the first time, the complete BBC Radio Sessions the band recorded for John Peel in this period (including their legendary 1985 acoustic session) and the seminal debut single “Upside Down”, the release that put the nascent Creation Records on the map and immortalised in the recent documentary film of the same name.
• The DVD features the promo videos for the singles released from the album alongside seminal and previously unreleased TV appearances, including their jaw-dropping live TV debut on the Old Grey Whistle Test, a performance of two songs on The Tube, a studio performance and interview from Belgian TV, and never before seen footage of the infamous riot at North London Polytechnic — this includes excerpts of the band’s performance on the night, highly entertaining interviews with all four original members, and scenes of the crowd destroying the venue!
• The 32 page booklet contains exclusive new interviews that tell the band’s story in their own words, including an extensive contribution from Psychocandy-era drummer Bobby Gillespie, who went onto fame as frontman of Primal Scream, and the first ever interview with elusive first drummer Murray Dalglish, along with rare memorabilia and previously unpublished photos.



1. Just Like Honey
2. The Living End
3. Taste The Floor
4. The Hardest Walk
5. Cut Dead
6. In A Hole
7. Taste Of Cindy
8. Never Understand
9. Inside Me
10. Sowing Seeds
11. My Little Underground
12. You Trip Me Up
13. Something’s Wrong
14. It’s So Hard

15. Suck
16. Ambition
17. Just Out Of Reach
18. Boyfriend’s Dead
19. Head
20. Cracked

1. Upside Down
2. Vegetable Man

3. In A Hole
4. You Trip Me Up
5. Never Understand
6. Taste The Floor
7. The Living End
8. Inside Me
9. Just Like Honey
10. Some Candy Talking
11. Psychocandy
12. You Trip Me Up
13. Cut Dead

14. Up Too High
15. Upside Down
16. Never Understand
17. Taste The Floor
18. In A Hole
19. Something’s Wrong
20. Just Like Honey
21. The Living End
22. My Little Underground

23. Never Understand (Alternate version)
24. Jesus Fuck

1. Never Understand
2. You Trip Me Up
3. Just Like Honey

4. In A Hole – Old Grey Whistle Test
5. Riot at North London Polytechnic – Interview and Live Clips
6. Interview – VRT, Belgium
7. Never Understand — VRT, Belgium
8. Just Like Honey – The Tube
9. Inside Me – The Tube

Release date: 19th September 2011

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s