NEW MUSIC: Magnetic Heads – What You See Is What You Get

‘What You See Is What You Get’ is the third single to be released from Magnetic Heads’ forthcoming debut album Moral Outage (August 13th) on Broken Stone Records/Remote Control.

In 2020, Sydney band Magnetic Heads released their first new music after a lengthy hiatus. ‘The Street‘, and its recent 2021 follow-up ‘Time Of Your Life‘, were glorious tastes of their return to the recording studio, where singer/songwriter Des Miller and producer/musician Liam Judson (Belles Will Ring, Lewis Goldmark) have created a sublime collection of melancholic pop songs that navigate both the dance-floor and existential concerns with heady emotion and lush drama. 

The new single ‘What You See Is What You Get‘ is akin to an intoxicating fusion of Air, Kraftwerk and Joy Division. Its dreamy, interstellar cloud of synths raise Miller’s seductive melodies skyward, soaring above the punchy drums and handclaps that punctuate the atmosphere with angular, post-punk precision. 

“The song is note to self to remember that the huge soupy mess of our past actions are not worth obsessing over and regretting. That what matters is our next choice.”

As Miller explains, he’s addressing the choice of optimism and conviction over regret and lost opportunities – grasping the proverbial ball and running with it. “There’s a brutally elegant philosophy that suggests reality is a figment of our perception; that what you see is what you get. I’m interested in the slippery phenomena of agency and identity – the gap between what we think about ourselves, what we do, what other people perceive and how they interpret those perceptions.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s