DION LUNADON GETS PRIMITIVE AND NOISY ON NEW PUNK ROCK SINGLE

Dion Lunadon‘s punk rock credentials are pretty impeccable. From scrappy North Shore beginnings in Aotearoa/New Zealand as part of the much missed 90s trio Nothing At All!, through the bigger garage rock sound of the D4 and time spent overseas with blistering noiseniks A Place To Bury Strangers , he’s primarily carved out a career as a band player. Now he’s set to release his second solo album, Beyond Everything.

‘It’s The Truth’ showcases Lunadon’s skill at boiling rock ‘n’ roll down to its rough and raw essence. There’s a hint of The Stooges in the bass and guitars, while over the top he espouses THE TRUTH in a strangled howl and wail that would make Jack White, Jon Spencer, and Fred Cole of Dead Moon proud.

“This is one of my favorite songs on the record,” says Dion. “It started with the opening drum beat and the rest came together quickly. It’s about me writing songs in my little hovel of a studio and looking forward to my wife’s return home from work. A “distance makes the heart grow fonder” kind of thing”. 

Dion continues; “The record was written and recorded sporadically between 2017 and 2019. I probably wrote about 100 songs during this period. The first album was pretty relentless which I liked, but I wanted to make something more dynamic for the 2nd record. Something that could be more conducive to repeated listens. I’d get in my studio, come up with a song title, and start working on any ideas that I had. For example, with Elastic Diagnostic, the idea was to create a hum that evokes the sound of life coursing through your body. Everything else kind of formed around that idea.”   

Dion wrote, played and recorded everything on the album apart from drums.

The new album Beyond Everything, his second solo LP, is out June 10th via In The Red.

Pre-order

US TOUR

Sat May 14 – Bethlehem, PA – National Sokols +

Thur Jun 09 – Denver, CO – Ogden *

Fri Jun 10 – Salt Lake City – Metro Music Hall *

Sat Jun 11 – Boise, ID – Knitting Factory *

Sun Jun 12 – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile *

Mon Jun 13 – Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theatre Lounge

Wed Jun 15 – Arcata, CA – Miniplex

Thur Jun 16 – Petaluma, CA – Phoenix Theatre *

Sat Jun 18 – Oakland, CA – Elbo Room

Mon Jun 20 – Los Angeles, CA – Moroccan Lounge

Wed Jun 22 – San Diego, CA – Music Box *

EUROPE/UK TOUR

Thur Nov 03 – Reignier, France – La Poulpe

Fri Nov 04 – Gigors, France – Gigors Electric

Sat Nov 05 – Torino, Italy – Blah Blah

Sun Nov 06 – Zurich, Switzerland – Safari Bar

Mon Nov 07 – Fürth, Germany – Kunstkeller 027

Wed Nov 09 – Hamburg, Germany – Hafenklang

Thur Nov 10 – Berlin, Germany – 8mm

Fri Nov 11 – Regensburg, Germany – VOID CONCERT @ Alte Malzerai

Mon Nov 14 – Bristol, UK – Crofter’s Rights

Wed Nov 16 – Nottingham, UK – Chameleon

Thur Nov 17 – London, UK – Shacklewell Arms

Wed Nov 23 – Paris, France – Supersonic

Thu Nov 24 – Rennes, France – TBA

Fri Nov 25 – Nantes, France – Duchesse

Sat Nov 26 – Lyon, France – Le Sonic

* with The Black Angels

+ with Haldol and Death Bag

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s