NEWS: Spiritualized Announce New Album, Release First Single/Video

photo by Juliette Larthe

J Spaceman returns with a new Spiritualized studio album, Everything Was Beautiful, to be released February 25, 2022, via Bella Union and available to preorder here.

Spaceman plays 16 different instruments on Everything Was Beautiful which was put down at 11 different studios, as well as at his home. He also employed more than 30 musicians and singers including his daughter Poppy, long-time collaborator and friend John Coxon, string and brass sections, choirs , and finger bells and chimes from the Whitechapel Bell Foundry.

“There was so much information on it that the slightest move would unbalance it, but going around in circles is important to me. Not like you’re spiraling out of control but you’re going around and around and on each revolution, you hold onto the good each time. Sure, you get mistakes as well, but you hold on to some of those too and that’s how you kind of… achieve. Well, you get there.”  

The opening track ‘Always Together With You’ is a reworking of a track originally released in demo quality in 2014. This new version is a breathtaking, hard-edged, psychedelic pop tune akin to The Beach Boys in space serenading the stars with a kaleidoscopic, wide-eyed view of the universe, where themes of high romance and space travel collide.

Everything Was Beautiful

1. Always Together With You
2. Best Thing You Never Had
3. Let It Bleed (For Iggy)
4. Crazy
5. The Mainline Song
6. The A Song (Laid in Your Arms)
7. I’m Coming Home Again


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s