NEWS: R.E.M. release 25th anniversary edition of ‘Green’.


Out this week is the latest of R.E.M.’s reissues that have been released on a regular basis since the band officially called it a day in 2011. Green was released in 1988 and here at DS we rate this as our favourite R.E.M. LP with Automatic For The People pushing hard for the same honour. With a raft of singles that infiltrated international charts it saw the band finding a balance between their artier inclinations and the pure guitar pop melodies that permeate much of the record.

R.E.M., Green: 25th Anniversary Edition (Warner Bros./Rhino, 2013)

Disc 1: Remastered original LP (originally released as Warner Bros. 25795, 1988)

  1. Pop Song 89
  2. Get Up
  3. You Are the Everything
  4. Stand
  5. World Leader Pretend
  6. The Wrong Child
  7. Orange Crush
  8. Turn You Inside-Out
  9. Hairshirt
  10. I Remember California
  11. 11/Unititled

Disc 2: Live at the Greensboro Coliseum, Greensboro, NC – 11/10/1989

  1. Stand
  2. The One I Love
  3. Turn You Inside Out
  4. Belong
  5. Exhuming McCarthy
  6. Good Advices
  7. Orange Crush
  8. Cuyahoga
  9. These Days
  10. World Leader Pretend
  11. I Believe
  12. Get Up
  13. Life and How to Live It
  14. Its the End of the World As We Know It (and I Feel Fine)
  15. Pop Song 89
  16. Fall on Me
  17. You Are the Everything
  18. Begin The Begin
  19. Low
  20. Finest Worksong
  21. Perfect Circle

R.E.M., Live in Greensboro EP (Warner Bros./Rhino, 2013)

  1. So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)
  2. Feeling Gravitys Pull
  3. Strange
  4. King of Birds
  5. I Remember California

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s