NEWS: New releases from The Beatles, McCartney and Harrison

There is (as usual) much happening on the Beatles-related front with upcoming releases of Paul McCartney’s RAM, George Harrison outtakes and Yellow Submarine.

Paul McCartney | RAM – released May 22nd, 2012

Standard Edition: 1 CD digipak Single disc, digitally remastered 12- track standard edition

Special Edition: 2 CD digipak Remastered album and 8-track bonus audio CD including rarities, b-sides and the hit single, ‘Another Day’.

Deluxe Edition Box Set: 4 CD/1 DVD box set & download Remastered album, bonus audio CD, remastered Mono album, Thrillington CD, bonus film DVD, 112 page book, 5 prints in vintage style photographic wallet, 8 full size facsimiles of Paul’s original handwritten lyric sheets and mini photographic book of outtakes from the original album cover photo shoot.

Hi-Res: 24bit 96kHz files of the remastered and bonus audio CD, accessed via a download code inserted on a card within the deluxe edition package

Vinyl: 2LP 180gm, gatefold vinyl with download Remastered album, bonus audio disc plus digital download of all 20 tracks

Limited Edition Mono Vinyl: 1LP, Remastered mono album

Digital: RAM will be available for download across a variation of digital configurations including Mastered for iTunes and High Resolution

George Harrison | Early Takes Volume 1 – released April 30th, 2012

The ten tracks on the CD were first released as part of the Living In The Material World Super Deluxe Box set that accompanied Martin Scorcese’s film.

1. My Sweet Lord (demo) (3.33)
2. Run Of The Mill (demo) (1.56)
3. I’d Have You Any Time (early take) (3.06)
4. Mama You’ve Been On My Mind (demo) (3.04)
5. Let It Be Me (demo) (2.56)
6. Woman Don’t You Cry For Me (early take) (2.44)
7. Awaiting On You All (early take) (2.40)
8. Behind That Locked Door (demo) (3.29)
9. All Things Must Pass (demo) (4.38)
10. The Light That Has Lighted The World (demo) (2.23)

The Beatles | Yellow Submarine – released May 28th, 2012

The Beatles‘ classic 1968 animated feature film, Yellow Submarine, has been digitally restored for DVD and Blu-ray release on May 28 (May 29 in the US). The film’s ‘songtrack’ album will be reissued on CD on the same date. The film has been restored in 4K digital resolution for the first time by hand, frame by frame.

  • Feature film [TRT: 89:00]
  • Fully restored in 4K and presented in the original aspect ratio of 1:66-1
  • Audio options: English 5.1 DTS, German 5.1 DTS, Italian 5.1 DTS
  • English Dolby Stereo
  • Original Mono
  • Audio Commentary – Heinz Edelmann (Art Director) and John Coates (Producer)

Extra features:

  • Mod Odyssey documentary [TRT: 7:30]
  • Original theatrical trailer [TRT: 3:30]
  •  Storyboard sequences:
  • – Sea of Monsters (split screen footage) [TRT: 4:20]
  • – Battle of the Monsters [118 images]
  • – Pepperland [64 images]
  • Interviews:
  • – Paul Angelis (voice of Ringo and Chief Blue Meanie) [TRT: 1:39]
  • – John Clive (voice of John) [TRT: 2:03]
  • – David Livesey (key animator) [TRT: 1:11]
  • – Millicent McMillan (Heinz Edelmann’s assistant) [TRT: 1:12]
  • – Jack Stokes (animation director) [TRT: 3:42]
  • – Erich Segal (co-writer) [TRT: 1:38]
  •  Original pencil drawings [29 images]
  • Behind-the-scenes photos [30 images]

Yellow Submarine Songtrack [CD]

  • 1. Yellow Submarine
  • 2. Hey Bulldog
  • 3. Eleanor Rigby
  • 4. Love You To
  • 5. All Together Now
  • 6. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
  • 7. Think For Yourself
  • 8. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
  • 9. With A Little Help From My Friends
  • 10. Baby, You’re A Rich Man
  • 11. Only A Northern Song
  • 12. All You Need Is Love
  • 13. When I’m Sixty-Four
  • 14. Nowhere Man
  • 15. It’s All Too Much

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s