ALBUM REVIEW: Spain – Sargent Place

Rating8grcd786-500x500Spain’s music is generally slow, swirling, soulful and hypnotic with its core sound circling itself with only minor variation. After a decade-long break Josh Haden returned with The Soul Of Spain in 2012 and now Sargent Place continues the same vibe with some psych rock explorations on the opening track and warm currents of gospel music flowing through other songs. Spain have never faltered on their recordings and this is no exception as Haden’s bass provides the songs’ heartbeat and his soft tones deliver his late-night poetry. Jazz, soul, blues and more blend into the unique and mesmerising sound of Spain.

Chris Familton

this review was first published in the Music

NEW MUSIC: Spain release new LP Sargent Place


A new Spain album is always cause for celebration. Ever since the classic debut The Blue Moods Of Spain in 1995 they’ve continued to release beautiful albums that showcase their jazz-tinged slowcore songs.

Sargent Place was produced by Gus Seyffert (The Black Keys, Beck, Norah Jones) and mixed by Darrell Thorp (Beck, Radiohead, Atoms For Peace, Paul McCartney). It has just been released by Glitterhouse Records and is available on digital, CD and vinyl.

01 Love At First Sight
02 The Fighter
03 It Could Be Heaven
04 From The Dust
05 Sunday Morning
06 Let Your Angel
07 To Be A Man
08 In My Soul
09 You And I
10 Waking Song

ds recommends… Chin Yi

You don’t hear of many great Spanish bands (though I’m sure there are plenty), especially in the post punk vein. Chin Yi popped up in the DS inbox and are pretty impressive in their eclecticism, sonic range and embrace of melody and dissonance. The good news is that they have their album Wo available to download for free on Bandcamp.