NEWS: Slint to release remastered Spiderland box set


Slint were a band whose influence far outweighed their popularity. Their type of post-punk infused post-rock spawned many an imitator over the ensuing decades and now their most important album Spiderland is getting the reissue treatment.

The Spiderland (Remastered) Box Set will be released April 15th and includes:

Slint’s 1991 album, Spiderland, remastered from the original analog master tapes by Bob Weston and pressed on 180 gram vinyl.

Fourteen previously unreleased outtakes & demos personally selected by Slint, mastered by Bob Weston, and pressed on two 180 gram vinyl albums.

A 104 page book with over 100 never-before-seen photos documenting Slint’s entire history, as well as lyrics to the songs on Spiderland, and a foreword by Will Oldham

CDs of all the music: remastered Spiderland on one CD and the 14 bonus songs on a second CD

Breadcrumb Trail, a brand new, never-before-seen, 90 minute DVD documentary about Slint and the making of Spiderland; directed by documentarian Lance Bangs. Includes extensive interviews with the members of Slint, as well as interviews with Steve Albini, James Murphy, David Yow, Ian Mackaye, and Matt Sweeney.

Hand numbered limited edition of 3,138 copies worldwide

All packaging printed in the USA at Stoughton, including heavyweight, “tip-on” gatefold LP jackets

All three albums pressed at RTI in the USA on 180 gram vinyl

Packaging concept and design by Louisville native Jeremy deVine (of Temporary Residence fame)

Preorder now from Touch and Go Records


NEWS: Ride’s Nowhere gets the deluxe treatment…

On the 21st of December, in what will probably be the last of a number of great reissues in 2010 (Bowie’s Station To Station, Teardrop Explodes Kilimanjaro, Frankie’s Welcome To The Pleasuredome and Iggy & James Williamson’s Kill City) Rhino have seen fit to release the deluxe version of Ride’s classic album Nowhere on its 20th anniversary.

Nowhere came at the crossroads of British guitar pop and American guitar rock and sounded marvellously hypnotic and swooning with Andy Bell and Mark Gardener’s sparking and sparkling guitars that created the texture while Steve Queralt and Loz Colbert locked down the baggy dance rhythms. It was like a collision of Stones Roses and Sonic Youth.

The two-disc set includes the newly remastered U.S. version of Nowhere, the EP Today Forever, and an unreleased live show. Adorned with a lenticular version of the album cover, the set’s 5″ x 5″ hardback book-style package includes a 40-page booklet with rare photos and an essay by author Jim DeRogatis.

Rhino will also release a 180-gram vinyl version of the remastered album in the format of the original 8 track UK release.


Disc 1: Nowhere + Today Forever
1. “Seagull”
2. “Kaleidoscope”
3. “In A Different Place”
4. “Polar Bear”
5. “Dreams Burn Down”
6. “Decay”
7. “Paralysed”
8. “Vapour Trail”
9. “Taste”
10. “Here And Now”
11. “Nowhere”
12. “Unfamiliar”
13. “Sennen”
14. “Beneath”
15. “Today”

Disc 2: Live At The Roxy, 1991
1. “Polar Bear”
2. “Seagull”
3. “Unfamiliar”
4. “Dreams Burn Down”
5. “Like A Daydream”
6. “Vapour Trail”
7. “In A Different Place”
8. “Perfect Time”
9. “Taste”
10. “Nowhere”
11. “Chelsea Girl”
12. “Drive Blind”