NEWS: Mick Harvey Announces New Soundtrack


Mick Harvey will release his first soundtrack in ten years with Waves of ANZAC / The Journey via Mute / [PIAS]on 3 April 2020.

The album features two recent soundtracks to powerful subject matters recorded by Mick Harvey. The first, Waves of Anzac looks at Sam Neill’s personal family history interwoven with the history of the First World War and the ANZACs through to the modern era while the second, The Journey, is a four-part composition released in support of #KidsOffNauru, a campaign working for the child refugees and people seeking asylum who find themselves in offshore detention.


Waves of ANZAC is represented by 13 tracks selected from the score for the ABC documentary on forgotten war stories and lives lost. The documentary is a personal history by the actor Sam Neill (Jurassic Park, The Piano) set against a contemporary increasingly divided political backdrop. ‘Why ANZAC? with Sam Neill’ (Dir. Kriv Stenders, 2015) is named for the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) who served together in the Gallipoli Campaign, their first engagement in World War I and continued as a military unit until after WW2. The film is a look at this pivotal point in our shared history, and the impact it still has on a personal and on a geopolitical level. Harvey recently examined this period via the prism of a fictional soldier/poet for his collaboration with Christopher Richard Barker, The Fall and Rise of Edgar Bourchier and the Horrors of War.

The Journey
 is a four-part composition, recorded with The Letter String Quartet, in support of people seeking asylum who have found themselves in Australia’s offshore detention program. The piece was composed as a study of the hardships endured by the detainees on Nauru, Manus Island and Christmas Island before and during their internment and as an expression of hope for a humane outcome to their plight.

Waves Of ANZAC
1. Turkish Theme
2. Waves of ANZAC
3. First Anniversary
4. The Somme
5. Archives
6. Poppies
7. The Lovells
8. The Cemetery
9. Modern War
10. Vietnam
11. Crete
12. Back at Kiatora
13. Return to Anzac Cove

The Journey 
with The Letter String Quartet 

Part 1: Conflict
Part 2: All at Sea
Part 3: Capture (Not Real Refugees)
Part 4: Hope

NEWS: Mick Harvey to release new album…

Guitarist, drummer, songwriter, ex-Bad Seed Mick Harvey is releasing a new solo album Sketches From The Book Of The Dead on April 29 via Mute/EMI.

Harvey recently posted about the new album and his work on PJ Harvey’s latest Let England Shake

Having dragged myself away from the North Illawarra beaches and the Melbourne summer, I am in the Europe once more to begin presenting the show we prepared back in December with PJ Harvey. The dates are selling out and, with the album’s imminent release on February 14th., it’s all systems go. Myself, John Parish, Jean–Marc Butty and Polly have a great camaraderie and have really enjoyed working up the live versions of the new album’s songs.

In the meantime I managed to finish my own new album, a songwriting project entitled “Sketches from the Book of the Dead”, which is scheduled for release on May 2nd. Nothing to do with either the Tibetan or the Egyptian version, much more related to  Luis Buñuel’s though thankfully a little more fleshed-out than a list – which is all his was. I am in the throes of trying to set up some album launch shows for Australia in May and some selected dates in Europe for early June. Hopefully I’ll be able to arrange more extensive live performances later in the year once the commitment to Polly’s principle block of touring has been completed.
It’s quite coincidental that both Polly and I have come up with themed albums at a similar time and although they are quite different in their intent there are a couple of interesting cross-overs and we had quite similar interests in certain subjects (particularly the First World War) a couple of years ago when the body of the writing for her album was happening. I began writing songs for “Sketches from the Book of the Dead” about 4 years ago and picked up a head of steam from the middle of 2009. I have never considered myself a songwriter by vocation so it’s rather exciting and somewhat novel to find myself with an album on which I have written all the songs; but I have no intention of making a habit of it. I will happily revert to my normal job description in the future. The subject of the album is very specific and intense and I’m not convinced I would find another theme of such an intensity that could drive or inspire me to write so many songs.

NEWS: MICK HARVEY departs The Bad Seeds…


An end of an era today with Mick Harvey ending his role in the band that he has been a part of since they first formed.  His relationship with Nick Cave stretches back into the days of The Birthday Party and he has filled the role of musical sidekick to Cave and director of the Bad Seeds’ affairs since the start.

In recent years Warren Ellis has taken a much stronger role in the band which led to the formation of Grinderman as a side project to The Bad Seeds.  In retrospect the signs were there at the recent All Tomorrow’s Parties shows with Harvey playing a noticeably quiter role in the band, less guitar , more keyboards, with Ellis firmly positioned stage left rather than his customary background spot.

Thanks for all your work in the Bad Seeds Mick, your legacy will remain strong and we look forward to other collaborations and solo albums that you will no doubt continue to release.

Mick Harvey press release:

“For a variety of personal and professional reasons I have chosen to discontinue my ongoing involvement with Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. After 25 years I feel I am leaving the band as it experiences one of its many peaks; in very healthy condition, and with fantastic prospects for the future.“I’m confident Nick will continue to be a creative force and that this is the right time to pass on my artistic and managerial role to what has become a tremendous group of people who can support him in his endeavours both musically and organizationally.

“It was a fantastic experience to finish my touring days in the band with the recent shows in Australia and the unique events that took place in conjunction with All Tomorrow’s Parties, especially Mt. Buller, which was one of the many highlights of my involvement with the band throughout the years.

“I shall continue working on the Bad Seeds back catalogue re-issues project over the coming year and look forward to the new opportunities I shall be able to accommodate as a result of my changed circumstances.”

Click here for an interview with The Age in happier Bad Seeds times…