NEWS: Dylan looks back with new Bootleg Series Vol. 9

Sony Music has announced details of 2 new Dylan releases before the end of 2010. The first and most interesting is the latest instalment in the Bootleg Series – Volume 9. Sub-titled The Witmark Demos: 1962-1964 it will be released on CD and 4 LP 180-gram vinyl. It captures Dylan accompanied only by his acoustic guitar, harmonica and occasionally piano. All of the 47 original recordings on The Witmark Demos, were written – and their subsequent demos recorded – before Dylan turned 24 years old.

There are 15 previously unreleased Bob Dylan songs including the plaintive Ballad For A Friend the civil rights era-inspired Long Ago, Far Away and The Death Of Emmett Till and the poignant Guess I’m Doing Fine.


LP 1 – Side A

1. Man On The Street (Fragment)

2. Hard Times In New York Town

3. Poor Boy Blues

4. Ballad For A Friend

5. Rambling, Gambling Willie

6. Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues

7. Standing On The Highway

8. Man On The Street

LP 1 – Side B

1. Blowin’ In The Wind

2. Long Ago, Far Away

3. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall

4. Tomorrow Is A Long Time

5. The Death of Emmett Till

LP 2 – Side A

1. Let Me Die In My Footsteps

2. Ballad Of Hollis Brown

3. Quit Your Low Down Ways

4. Baby, I’m In The Mood For You

5. Bound To Lose, Bound To Win

6. All Over You

7. I’d Hate To Be You On That Dreadful Day

LP 2 – Side B

1. Long Time Gone

2. Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues

3. Masters Of War

4. Oxford Town

5. Farewell

LP 3 – Side A

1. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

2. Walkin’ Down The Line

3. I Shall Be Free

4. Bob Dylan’s Blues

5. Bob Dylan’s Dream

LP 3 – Side B

1. Boots Of Spanish Leather

2. Walls of Red Wing

3. Girl From The North Country

4. Seven Curses

5. Hero Blues

6. Whatcha Gonna Do?

7. Gypsy Lou

LP 4 – Side A

1. Ain’t Gonna Grieve

2. John Brown

3. Only A Hobo

4. When The Ship Comes In

5. The Times They Are A-Changin’

6. Paths Of Victory

LP 4 – Side B

1. Guess I’m Doing Fine

2. Baby Let Me Follow You Down

3. Mama, You Been On My Mind

4. Mr. Tambourine Man

5. I’ll Keep It With Mine

Also to be released prior to Christmas is a 9LP box set (and CD) titled The Original Mono Recordings containing newly mastered mono versions of Dylan’s first 8 albums.

Bob Dylan – 1962

The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan – 1963

The Times They Are A-Changin’ – 1964

Another Side Of Bob Dylan – 1964

Bringing It All Back Home – 1965

Highway 61 Revisited – 1965

Blonde on Blonde – 1966

John Wesley Harding – 1967

Share Share on Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s